It’s the little things

You know how romantic it seems when a character makes a grand gesture to show someone they’re loved?

Bollocks to that.

Nearly a week ago I had a root canal. I’ve been in constant pain ever since, and only prescription-strength Ibuprofen has touched the pain. I’ve been moody and frustrated and, more than anything, HUNGRY. Hungry like a tiger.

I’m not one of those people who deals well with hunger.

And for the last nearly-week, my husband has been making me the softest foods possible. When I woke up – in pain and upset – on Saturday morning, he asked what I wanted to eat that day. “Just hummus and some soft bread,” I told him.

He brought back hummus, three kinds of soft bread, and the ingredients to make me soup and risotto. Last night it was really soft mashed potatoes (not a lump in the bunch) and veggie sausages.

Needless to say, as soon as I can purse my lips without wanting to sob, he’s getting a big ol’ smooch.

4 Comments

Filed under Thoughtfulness

4 responses to “It’s the little things

  1. I’m so sorry you’re hurting, but it sounds like you’re in good hands. What a sweetheart. Get better soon!

  2. Even if he’s too literary to read a romance. Ah, well…I think Dickens sucks, so I guess we’re even. Har.

What do you think?

