Don’t quit your day job

The other day one of my colleagues asked whether I’d quit my job if I get published. “Are you kidding?” I asked. “Who would I write about if I wasn’t around you guys all day?”

Nothing like a bit of paranoia to make a working relationship more interesting.

Okay, so I don’t write about my colleagues, but working does definitely crank my creative machine.

So how fantastic is this chart showing famous authors’ day jobs? It’s great to see how some of the most boring jobs on Earth inspired brilliant writing.*

Though I think I’d be looking at my career options if I were Charlotte Bronte.

How about you? Got a day job that pushes you to write – whether because it’s so great or to escape the tedium?

*Not that my job’s one of the most boring on Earth. I really love it. And I’m not just saying that in case my boss ever finds this blog. Seriously.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughtfulness

What do you think?

